The Oregon Seal Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife  
ignore
 » ODFW Home    » Hunting Resources   » Small Game
ignore
ignore
ignore
About Us Fishing Hunting Viewing License/Regs Conservation Living With Wildlife Education
ignore
ignore
Elk ODFW RESOURCES
Hunting in Oregon
ignore

Hunting and Trapping

Furbearers and Unprotected Mammals

Documents (pdfs)

Report Furtaker Harvest Here

Additional Resources

Reports (pdfs)

Trapper Education Requirement

By action of the 1985 Oregon Legislature, all trappers born after June 30, 1968, and all first-time Oregon trappers are required to complete an approved trapper education course.

The course is not required of persons trapping on land owned or leased by that person, the person’s immediate family, or a person’s agent who is controlling damage to livestock or agricultural crops on that property.

The course may be completed at home. Testing will take place at Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) offices throughout the state. A furtaker’s license will be issued by the Salem ODFW Headquarters office after the test has been successfully completed and mailed to Salem Headquarters, and the license application with payment has been received.

Course materials are available by contacting Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, I&E Division, 4034 Fairview Industrial Dr. SE, Salem, OR 97302, (503) 947-6000, ODFW.Info@state.or.us.

Trapper Education Program

License Requirements

Juveniles younger than 12 years of age are not required to purchase a license, except to hunt or trap bobcat and otter. However, they must register to receive a brand number through the Salem ODFW office. To trap bobcat or otter, juveniles must complete the trapper education course.

Landowners must obtain either a furtaker’s license, a hunting license for furbearers, or a free license to take furbearers on land they own and on which they reside. To receive the free license, the landowner must obtain from Salem ODFW Headquarters office a receipt of registration for the location of such land prior to hunting or trapping furbearing mammals on that land.

License and Tag Fees

Furtakers need either a Furtaker’s License or a Hunting License for Furbearers. A Furtaker's License allows the holder to trap, hunt and pursue. A Hunting License for Furbearers allows the holder only to hunt and pursue. A general hunting license does not allow the holder to trap, hunt or pursue furbearers, but only to hunt unprotected mammals (see definition on page 7 of Oregon Furbearer Trapping and Hunting Regulations.)

License Fee
Resident Furtaker's License $51.00
Nonresident Furtaker's License $380.00
Resident Hunting License for Furbearers $24.00
Resident Juvenile Furtakers License (Age 12-17) $17.00
Juveniles younger than 12 See license requirements above
Bobcat Record Card
(Hunting License for Furbearers or Furtaker’s License required)
$35.00
River Otter Record Card
(Hunting License for Furbearers or Furtaker’s License required)
$35.00
The above license and record card fees each include a $2.00 license agent fee. Further information on licenses and tags is available by writing or telephoning Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Licensing Section, 4034 Fairview Industrial Dr. SE, Salem, OR 97302, (503) 947-6100.

Mandatory Annual Reporting

Persons who were licensed, but did not fill out and submit a completed furtaker harvest report online or postmarked by April 15, will not be issued a furbearer harvest license for the following season unless they complete and return the late Harvest Report form and application with a $50.00 fee at time of renewal.

Online Submission

Mail/Fax Submission

Important Marten Harvest Information

The Department of Fish and Wildlife requests that furtakers provide the date, location of harvest and sex of marten taken, and that all marten carcasses be turned in to the local ODFW office prior to March 1, following each season. Furtaker cooperation is critical to successful future management of this species.

Furbearer Pursuit Seasons (Statewide)

No animals shall be killed except during authorized open harvest seasons. A bobcat record card must be in possesion to harvest bobcat. A Furtaker's License or Hunting License for furbearers must be in possesion to pursue.

Bobcat Pursuit Season September 1 through February 28
Fox Pursuit Season September 1 through February 28
Raccoon Pursuit Season September 1 through March 15

Furbearer Harvest Seasons

Open Seasons Open Areas and Special Regulations
Bobcat
December 1 through February 28 WESTERN OREGON - No bag limit. All counties west of the summit of the Cascades, except Klamath and Hood River Counties. See page 3 of the Oregon Furbearer Trapping and Hunting Regulations for special bobcat regulations.
December 1 through February 28 EASTERN OREGON - Bag limit: Five (5) bobcats. All counties east of the summit of the Cascades, including all of Klamath and Hood River Counties. See page 5 of the Oregon Furbearer Trapping and Hunting Regulations for special bobcat regulations.
 
Grey Fox
November 15 through February 28 Entire State
 
Red Fox
Open season entire year Baker, Gilliam, Harney, Malheur, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa and Wheeler Counties
October 15 through January 15 Remainder of state
 
Marten
November 1 through January 31 Entire State. The department requests that furtakers provide the date, location of harvest, and sex of marten taken, and that all marten carcasses be turned in to the local ODFW office prior to March 1, following each season. Furtaker cooperation is critical for successful future management of this species.
 
Muskrat/Mink
November 15 through March 31 Entire State
 
Raccoon
November 15 through March 15 Entire State
 
River Otter
November 15 through March 15 Entire state except for all the areas closed to beaver trapping. See page 5 of the Oregon Furbearer Trapping and Hunting Regulations for special river otter regulations.
 
Fisher, Ringtail Cat, Wolverine, Kit Fox and Sea Otter
Closed season entire year
 
Badger, Coyote, Nutria, Opossum, Porcupine, Spotted Skunk, Striped Skunk and Weasel.
Open season entire year Requires appropriate Furtaker’s License to trap (also allows hunting),or appropriate Hunting License for Furbearer’s or general Hunting License to hunt these species.
 
Beaver
November 15 through March 15 See Regulations for Areas Open to Beaver Harvest

Definitions

What is a Furbearer? 

Furbearers are beaver, bobcat, fisher, marten, mink, muskrat, river otter, raccoon, red and gray fox. For any person owning, leasing, occupying, possessing or having charge or dominion over any land (or an agent of this person) who is taking or attempting to take beaver or muskrat on that property, these two species are considered to be predatory animals.

What is an Unprotected Mammal?

Unprotected Mammals are badger, coyote, gophers, moles (Scapanus townsendii, S. orarius and S. latimanus), mountain beaver, yellowbellied marmots, nutria, opossum, porcupine, spotted skunk, striped skunk, and weasel.  For any person owning, leasing, occupying, possessing or having charge of or dominion over any land (or an agent of this person) who is taking or  attempting to take coyote, gopher, mountain beaver (boomer), marmot, nutria, or porcupine on that property, these six species are considered to be predatory animals.

What is a Predatory Animal?

Predatory Animals are coyotes, rabbits, rodents, and feral swine which are or may be destructive to agricultural crops. Therefore these animals have no closed season, bag limit or weapons restriction.

This however does not mean that all rabbits and rodents are available to hunt. A hunter must first find out if the small game they are seeking to hunt is either Federally or State protected and if it carries any special regulations, such as closed seasons, bag limits or weapons restrictions.

Protected mammals and birds
  • Game mammals
  • Game birds
  • Furbearers
  • Threatened or Endangered species
  • Fisher
  • Ringtail
  • Fringed myoti
  • Townsend's big-eared bat
  • Pallid bat
  • Silver-haired bat
  • Western small-footed myotis
  • Long-eared myotis
  • Long-legged myotis
  • Yuma myotis
  • Pika (cony)
  • Pygmy rabbit
  • White-tailed jackrabbit
  • White-tailed antelope squirrel
  • Washington ground squirrel
  • Northern flying squirrel
  • Chickaree (pine squirrel)
  • Golden-mantled ground squirrel
  • Chipmunks
  • White-footed vole
  • All marine mammals
  • All nongame birds except Eurasian collared-dove, European starling, house sparrow, and rock pigeon

Protected species may not be taken without a valid license and tag during authorized seasons or a Scientific Taking Permit. However, rabbits and rodents destructive to agricultural crops, products and activities may be taken.

Feral (wild) Swine

Feral swine are defined as a predatory animal by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (OAR 603-010-0055). It is legal to hunt feral swine on public land with a valid hunting license. Hunting feral swine on private land does not require a valid hunting license, but you must have landowner permission. All general hunting regulations must be followed. (See Current Big Game Hunting Regulations for general hunting regulations.) There is no set season, no bag limit and no weapon restriction.

What are they?

Domestic swine (pigs) become feral when they meet the following criteria set by the Oregon Department of Agriculture:

  1. Animals are free roaming on public or private lands and not held under confinement.

  2. No notification to the landowner has been made by the swine owner of the swine having escaped confinement within a radius of five miles during the past five days.

  3. The swine do not appear to be domesticated and are not tame.

  4. The swine do not meet the description of escaped swine in section 2 above. Feral swine come in all shapes and sizes and can reach 400 pounds. They can look like common domestic barnyard pigs, Russian/European Boars or something in between. They will eat anything they can find and are mostly active at night. They can be found during the day loafing in clear cuts and brushy areas. They require abundant water and spend considerable time near ponds and streams. Sows and young pigs often travel in groups.

Where are they?

Feral swine populations are widely scattered and found mostly on private property. No landowners have requested assistance in removal and ODFW has no contact lists.

ignore
ignore
 


About Us | Fishing | Hunting | Wildlife Viewing | License / Regs | Conservation | Living with Wildlife | ODFW Outdoors

ODFW Home | Driving Directions | Employee Directory | Social Media | Oregon.gov | File Formats | Employee Webmail

4034 Fairview Industrial Drive SE   ::   Salem, OR 97302   ::    Main Phone (503) 947-6000 or (800) 720-ODFW [6339]

Do you have a question or comment for ODFW? Contact ODFW's Public Service Representative at: odfw.info@state.or.us
Share your opinion or comments on a Fish and Wildlife Commission issue at
: odfw.commission@state.or.us





   © ODFW. All rights reserved. This page was last updated: 02/27/2017 3:02 PM