Beginning in 2016, hunting licenses are half-price ($16) for resident Uniformed Service Members. Non-resident Uniformed Service Members continue to pay resident prices for an annual hunting, angling or shellfish License.
All non-resident active members of the uniformed services may purchase licenses, tags and permits at resident rates beginning Jan. 1, 2014. The Oregon State Legislature and Governor Kitzhaber passed and signed House Bill 2252 in 2013, making this change. It applies to active duty and reservists from the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, National Guard, or reservists currently stationed at any base in Oregon, the U.S. or any foreign country; the commissioned corps of NOAA, and Public Health Service of the US Department of Health and Human Services detailed with the Army or Navy of the United States.
In 2012, ODFW began a program that gives tags to active members of Armed Forces (News Release).
Each district can provide up to 20 controlled deer and 20 controlled elk tags, though tags provided may not exceed 10 percent of total hunt tag numbers.
How the program works
- You must be active member of Armed Forces and an Oregon resident, but stationed outside Oregon, to get a tag.
- Contact the district office where you want to hunt (in advance of the hunt if possible).
- Be prepared to show an active duty military ID, valid Oregon resident hunting license, and copy of current leave papers to document you are stationed outside of Oregon.
- Tags are provided on a first come, first serve basis.
- Members of military pay standard price for tag, but pay no additional fee for purchasing tag after the deadline.
- Military tag holders must provide harvest and effort information to the issuing ODFW office within five business days after the closing date of the hunt printed on the tag.