Hunter education is required for any hunter under age 18 in Oregon (unless they are hunting on land owned by their parents or legal guardian or are participating in the Mentored Youth Hunter Program.)
It’s recommended for adults new to hunting, too, or as a refresher for veteran hunters. The class gives a thorough introduction to the skills hunters need, covering topics like firearms safety, hunter ethics, wildlife identification, hunt preparation and techniques and outdoor survival.
The class takes 14-16 hours and requires a $10 application fee. All youth students are required to participate in a live fire exercise (students who take the workbook or online option do this by participating in a field day).
There are three ways to take the hunter education class:
*To sign up for required Field Day, see License Sales Classes page / Hunter Ed Field Day tab.
Adult students (age 18 and older) can skip the field day and just take an online course to get an official Oregon hunter education certification that satisfies other states’ requirements. Adults are also welcome to take hunter education in the classroom or by workbook.
Take any of the Oregon hunting safety courses and:
- Learn about hunter responsibility and ethics
- Discover how firearms work and learn about firearm safety
- Improve your wildlife identification, game care, survival and first aid skills
- Develop firearm handling skills and hunting techniques
- Increase awareness about wildlife conservation and management
At the end of the course, students are evaluated in three areas:
- A written test consisting of 60 multiple choice and true/false questions (passing grade 80 percent)
- A practical test of safe firearms handling
- An evaluation of the students attitude and sense of responsibility as demonstrated throughout the class
Many parents choose to go through the course with their child, which is encouraged. Parents who participate and who pass the test will receive their certificate as well. Even parents who choose not to take the tests usually find the course both informative and enjoyable.
There is no minimum age to attend a course, but children under age 11 often have a difficult time with the material. Younger students may also lack the upper body strength necessary to handle a firearm safely and control the muzzle when performing loading and unloading drills
Students taking the online course and passing the online test receive an official Oregon Field Day Qualifier Certificate, a prerequisite for attending an Oregon Hunter Education Program Independent Study Field Day
Upon successfully meeting all hunting safety course requirements, the student will receive an official Certificate of Completion
Class cancellation policy (effective March 1, 2012)
ODFW does not refund class fees. However, a credit system has been established as follows:
- Cancel less than 2 weeks from first class = No Credit.
- Cancel more than 2 weeks from first class = 1 time class credit good for 1 year that can be redeemed when student registers for another hunter education class. Any subsequent cancellations will not be issued a credit.
- Cancellations and the issuing and use of credits must be done through the hunter education program by calling 503-947-6028.
Please make every effort to attend the class that you have signed up for.
The Oregon Outdoor Skills Program is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments 1972, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and offers all persons the opportunity to participate in programs and activities regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. No individual will be turned away from or otherwise be denied access to or benefit from, any program or activity on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Complaints of discrimination should be sent to the Civil Rights Coordinator for Public Access, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.