ALL WATERCRAFT MUST STOP AT AN OPEN WATERCRAFT INSPECTION STATION FOR WATERCRAFT INSPECTION. A watercraft is any size or type of motorized or non-motorized boat (kayak, canoe, raft, stand up paddle board, surf board, etc.).
2016 Oregon Watercraft Inspection Station Locations (pdf)
- Oregon registered motorboat owners do not need to buy a permit; a $5 fee is automatically included in boat registration. Current registration decals are proof of payment.
Paddle craft and other non-motorized vessels 10 feet and over
- Permits for non-motorized craft (canoe, kayak, drift boat, etc), cost $5 plus a $2 agent fee for a total cost of $7.
About paddle craft permits
- If a permit is purchased online, print the permit and enclose the permit in a zip-lock bag to protect it from water damage.
- If you want to purchase a Tyvek tag permit, you can order one from the Marine Board through the mail. (pdf)
The Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program was established by the Oregon Legislature in an effort to keep Oregon’s lakes, rivers and streams free of destructive invasive species. ODFW and the Oregon State Marine Board manage the program and Oregon State Police and Oregon County Sheriffs handle enforcement of the law.